5 Forget Me Nots!

Standard

Ladies and Gentlemen!

Guess what?

I’m back, and I’m ready to write for you.

I’m quickly going to catch you up on my life and then I will enlighten everyone with 5 magical “Forget me not’s!”

The last time I posted I was studying for the GRE and I was feeling so overwhelmed. That was around Thursday. On Friday I went Christmas shopping after work…Yeah, you read that right. Christmas shopping. No worries though, I only bought one thing. After shopping I stopped home and hung out with my dog (stress relief). I finally got back to school around 9 or 10pm… I don’t even remember! I was going to study before going to bed on Friday because the GRE would be the next day. Ha. That, of course, didn’t happen. I spent time watching YouTube videos with my residents. :) The videos are below for those of you interested in viewing the types of things that consume my attention.

Enjoy those.

I went to bed on Friday later than anyone taking an important test the next day should. But I did it. I took the GRE. I kicked it in the face. It is done and over with. Sunday I hosted a program called The Irish and Peruvian Culture Night, which will be explained in a later post.

Right now I want to share with you 5 things to never forget as a resident assistant even when the semester is coming to a end.

1. Don’t forget you are the RA.–Lately I found myself falling into a routine of hanging out with a few of my residents. I do not think this has caused problems yet. It does seem that some of my residents may not take me as seriously when it comes to my RA duties however, and I think this has a lot to do with the friendships. Another potential negative to being close with my residents is that other residents don’t feel comfortable coming to me.

2. Don’t forget to check up on your residents.–November is a really stressful time in a college student’s life. Exhibit A over here!!!  Not all stress leads to the all mighty, over-diagnosed depression. Stress does however lead to giving up. Residents tend to first give up on school work or social life. It all depends on the resident. Sometimes, they just need to talk it out, complain or simply vent a bit. If I listen close, I can be much more helpful.

3. Don’t forget to be visible.–As a resident assistant and a student I know first hand that things get crazy as the semester goes along. It is easy as a resident assistant to be so stressed to the max myself that I find it difficult to simply go through the motions. It is easy to just do the work for class, program for monthly events and do my RA duty at its minimum. But the most important part of being a resident assistant is to be available with my door open and my mind open to any possible walk ins… 24/7!

4. Don’t forget to host relaxing events.–Big hands on events are great and residents love them! We RAs just need to give the residents and ourselves a break and if this break can count towards our required programs… Why not? I’m planning a study session program next week. It may not be relaxing to be studying for exams, but I hope it helps to pick up the spirits of the residents.

5. Don’t forget to set an example.–All of the above, combined can be beneficial…But while I’m doing these things I have to try to remember to be as positive an example as possible. Most residents are freshman or sophomore students and have a lot of mimicking to do. It’s definitely in the RA job description to set good examples.

Don’t forget.

<3 Kir

Leave a Reply

